TRANQUILITY

When life gets overwhelming, PAUSE and wait to hear God speak.  The picture above was taken on a early Saturday morning, while I was on vacation in Gatlinburg, TN. During the trip, we stayed in a condo in the mountains. The road leading to the condo gave me a panic attack when we arrived and every time we left and return. It was scary and tiresome. So much so that I didn’t enjoy much of my Friday night on the trip. I was a nervous wreck. Early Saturday morning, I got up and went out on the balcony. It was around four or five a.m. and I just talked to God, did a few confessions and devotionals, listened to gospel music, and embrace the scenery. I guess you can say I had church all by myself. The picture above taken right before sunrise as I sat on the balcony alone, spending time with God.  The peace and tranquility that surrounded me that morning, I could never forget. Also, the clarity I gained on things going on in my life cannot be explain.  I have always been a lover of nature. Not the adventurer type nature lover, but the type that love parks and ponds and looking at nature’s beauty.

Sometimes we become so caught up in the world and what we have to do that we often times forget to pause.  How do we expect to get answers to prayers if we never stop long enough to hear the answer? You can’t. I know because I’ve been there. I’ve prayed for God to do something in my life and then tried to fix it on my own. But I later found that to be ineffective.  In the words of my pastor, “You’re either leaning or trusting!”  Proverbs 3: 5-6 tells us to trust God with all of our hearts and lean not on our own understanding.  That scripture is powerful because it asks us to surrender everything to God and trust Him to work it out. I’m still a work in progress, but I take comfort in knowing that I am not the person I used to be. I am better, stronger, and I’ve never felt closer to God than I do now.

By the end of the trip, not only could I go up and down the mountain to the condo without panicking, but I overcame my fear of flying in a helicopter and riding on a horse. Now, was it scary? Yes! Very much so, but I trusted God, prayed through each event, and made it through and that’s what we as women have to learn to do.  When life overwhelms us, we have to learn to PAUSE, EMBRACE THE STORM IN OUR LIFE, AND TRUST GOD TO GIVE US PEACE AS HE WORKS THE SITUATION OUT.  THEN AND ONLY THEN WILL WE GET TRUE PEACE BECAUSE THE WORLD IS FILLED WITH ENOUGH IDOLS THAT OFFER FALSE PEACE.

Leave a Reply

