As an Indie Author

 

 

powerOctober is not only Breast Cancer Awareness Month, Domestic Violence Awareness, or even Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder Awareness month. October is also a month set aside to celebrate Indie Authors.  Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing is celebrating Indie Authors through their #PoweredByIndie Campaign, which brings awareness to Indie Authors and share their story with others.

Through avenues such as Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing and CreateSpace, Indie Authors, like myself, are able to share our writing with the world.  Indie Authors deal with a lot when it comes to getting recognition or acknowledgement from authors that became published through major companies, which is why this #PoweredByIndie Campaign is super exciting and very much needed.  I’ve been an Indie Author for almost two years and it’s almost like an imaginary line exists that separates Indie Authors from Published Authors of major or minor publishing companies. Sometimes it feels as if, I am not looked at as a real author because I didn’t go through a major company to publish my books.  However, becoming an Indie Author, empowered me.  It made me believe in myself and trust that I could play a major role in establishing my own brand and works, even if no one believed I could.  If anything I think Indie Authors should be celebrated more, because as an Indie Author, you are literally doing all the work yourself pertaining to your book(s) and your brand. You are responsible for the book contents, cover, formatting, editing, and marketing. That scares some people and that’s why some prefer to be signed over being an Indie Author. I won’t lie and say it’s easier because it’s not. When something goes wrong or doesn’t go as planned, well you have no one to blame but yourself, so you get up and try again. When things go right and you do it all yourself, the sense of pride, power, and  satisfaction you  feel from accomplishing something is simply amazing. It’s almost like the feeling you got when you first learned to ride a bike or drive a car for the first time. Being an Indie Author is not all glitz and glamour

Is it hard work? Yes.

Are their moments I want to give up? Yes.

Do I regret being an Indie Author? No! Not at all.

I enjoy the flexibility being an Indie Author gives me. I love the decision-making aspect of being in control of every part of publishing my book(s). Becoming an Indie Author was the best decision for me, because it opened the door for me to accomplish some of my other writing goals such as starting my own blog and magazine, and even starting my own independent publishing company. So kudos to all the Indie Authors and special thanks to Kindle Direct Publishing and CreateSpace because they have literally made millions of people dreams of becoming a published author come true!

I have learned so much on this Indie Author journey.  Although, I know I have a lot more to learn, I’m appreciative of the resources that allows me to be an Indie Author. I currently have four contemporary women romance books available(Somebody Else’s Husband: Tammie’s Story, Somebody Else’s Husband,Too: Persia’s Story, Somebody Else’s Husband, Again: Rachel’s Story, and Illicit Lovers: Secrets of a Wife), as well as a LGBT novella (Finding Love at Christmas), a short story collection (Diaries of the Heart: Laced with Joy and Pain), one anthology from my own publishing company (A Hood Summer Night’s Dream, the title is an ode to Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream but the novel deals with the many perplexities of love just as Shakespeare did). I also have two children’s book that I self-published (I love to Write &  Never Too Busy).

This journey has been amazing and I plan to continue on with more books and different genres.

Leave a Reply

