The Silver Lining

I am trying hard not to be disappointed, because a part of me already knew the system rarely works for people, especially black people, but I am. I feel powerless to protect myself, my name, my image, and my brand.

I have been dealing with cyberstalking/cyberbullying/harassment/slander/libel situation for over a month now.  I did everything I needed to do to handle things the correct way and still it got me nowhere.  I feel as if I have been running around in circles. The laws regarding harassment need to be changed, because it absolutely makes no sense that they do little to protect victims of stalking, harassment, or bullying as if those offenses are not real issues.  Maybe won’t consider the severity until the victim stabs, shoots, or kills their attacker.  That’s when it will be an issue. Why wait until it gets to that point when people come to law enforcement for protection only to have stupid rules and guidelines prevent them from seeking justice. Now I understand that there are people who abuse the system for malicious reasons, but what about the people who really need help and can’t get it. Where is the balance in that?

The attack of the devil is real, and the more I try to live right the more and more I get hit.  At the end of the day, it’s not about whether I’m scared to fight. The fight for me is a spiritual one.  I am no longer the person I used to be.  The old me wouldn’t care about wearing orange or stripes.  The old me wouldn’t stop until I felt I had cleared my name, but that’s not me anymore.  It’s not my battle to fight.  I’ve learned to pick my battles wisely. When dealing with hateful, jealous, angry people, I decided a long time ago, I’m not going to  entertain it anymore. I decided to ignore it; however, it doesn’t mean it won’t be brought to you. That’s my story.  What do you do when you have done all you can do and trouble still comes to you?

Donnie McClurkin advises through song that you must stand. The Bible tells us to pray for those that hate us, to turn the other cheek, to cast our cares on Him, because He cares for us.  The way the laws of this world is set up, God is the only one that can give us results that we need.  Although I’m disappointed in the outcome, I’m sure that God has an answer to my problem. He will work it out, but I can’t help but think about the women that are being harassed by old lovers, wannabe new lovers, crazy psychotic boyfriends/friends/family members…. How do they get the protection they need if they don’t have the entire 411 on their attacker?  Some  people don’t know anything about their stalker/abuser/cyberbully, so why is that a requirement for them to get help?

God is always up to something, and I know that He can make a way out of no way. That is the silver lining.  Jeremiah 29:11 reminds me that God has a plan for my life. I’m going to trust that there is a bigger plan at work even if I don’t see it!

Just my rant for today.  I won’t dwell on the situation, because despite it all, I know that I am blessed and that God is working on me! So, I’m trusting that God is going to work this thing out!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

